• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 478 other followers

  • Follow art4liberty on WordPress.com
  • MAKIN’S CLAY® DESIGN TEAM

  • POLYMER CLAY TV DESIGN TEAM

    Polymer Clay TV
  • 2016 BEACON MAKER

  • Blog Stats

    • 21,274 hits
  • My Published Art

    Just Steampunk! Vol. 1, 2011

    Just Steampunk! Volume 1 2011

  • Just Steampunk! Vol. 2, 2012

  • Just Steampunk! Vol. 4, 2014

  • Just Steampunk! Vol. 5, 2014

  • Just Jewelry Vol. 2, 2015

  • Polymer Cafe Sept/Oct 2015 Vol. 13 No. 6

  • Just Mixed Media Volume 1, 2016

  • PolymerCafe' July/August 2016 Vol. 14 No. 5

  • Just Steampunk! Vol. 8 2016

  • Just Mixed Media Vol. 2 2017

  • Just Steampunk! Vol. 9 2017

A TEAR FOR THE TOWERS…

I have been a little busy around the house here and at the Cape…but, I finally finished the pendant I had been working on called: “A tear for the Towers”.

This pendant is made of polymer clay and the image of the Towers is a photo transfer onto  polymer clay.  On the reverse side there is a faint image of the Statue of Liberty. The tear is wrapped with ball chain and a tiny heart is at the top. The image of the Towers is sealed in my tears, an image that will always be with me.  Who among us will ever forget that awful day.

Make a comment about how 911 impacted your life…did you know anyone who lost their life that day, a friend, a family member…how did this tragic event in history effect you.  In a couple of weeks I will pick a person who left a comment that moved me and the pendant will be theirs. God bless America.

4 Responses

  1. A true piece of art, Pat. Its gorgeous! Such a great dedication. I remember exactly where I was when it happened. It’s sad because I think a lot of us have already forgotten it. It was such a great time of patriotism. Whenever I think about it it brings tears and makes me proud to be an American. I wish more of us were proud. Our freedom is taken for granted by so much of our young

  2. Sorry, I am technically challenged at the moment. Somehow my touch screen keeps posting my comment.
    Anyway, i’ll just finish my soapbox by saying how much I appreciate your patriotic spirit. Its a much needed reminder. I certainly hope I can teach my children to be proud of their heritage and how we received our freedom.

  3. I remember my friend calling me that morning when the first tower was struck and we were saying how it looked like it was off kilter. I tiold her it looked as though it might fall over, then we watched in horror as the other plane came in…we both started crying, but I cried even more when 4 days later my 2 sisters and I went to NYC and walked to Ground Zero…we had parked up on Canal St to buy for you store back here. As we walked, we started seeing ash lightly falling from the sky, it got heavier the closer we got, smoke billowed up from sewer covers, and we were walking thru ankle deep ashes at some parts of our trek to get as close as we could. The smell is one I will never forget. We managed to get within 50ft of the “Cathedral” of iron and steel that was left after the collapse, we said a prayer and began our trek back to Canal. I picked up a piece of paper that was charred on the edges…the address on the upper corner could be made out….it was from the North Tower. I took that home as a momento and also scooped some ash into a film cannister and I have kept them in a safe place so I will never forget. it is important we never forget, I also lost several people that myself and my sisters knew on the flight that left Boston that morning. May they all Rest in Peace.

Leave a Reply

